Directors Lounge Special: One Minute Volume #11

By on


No votes yet

Directors Lounge Special: One Minute Volume #11
A moving image programme curated by Kerry Baldry

Kerry Baldry is an artist filmmaker and curator. Over the last 14 years she has also been compiling and organising screenings of artists moving image titled One Minute. An eclectic mix of work made within the duration of one mInute by artists at varying stages of their careers. These compilations have been screened worldwide and a part of The British Film Institute national archive.

“Since 2007 Kerry regularly curate these programmes, compiling a tremendously varied collection of sixty second films for each. Kerry seems to have an intuitive grasp of how to curate numerous short pieces into engaging and coherent self-contained programmes. By ‘intuitive’ I mean that while they never follow any contrived curatorial agenda, beyond their duration, in spite of their variety and diversity nothing ever seems forced or obvious on one hand, random or haphazard on the other. The other remarkable aspect of the programmes is the artists involved, many of whom have contributed work to all or most of the volumes, and many of whom are friends and colleagues of mine, indeed I have contributed films to a number of previous volumes. In this sense the One Minutes also represent a community of artists, and a self-determining one; this is a labor of love, put together without funding or the expectation of payment, but like all the best cultural endeavors because doing the work itself is worth it.” Steven Ball, artist and curator

One Minute Volume #11 includes work by:
Nick Jordan, Rastko Novakovic, Eva Rudlinger, Ruxandra Mitache, Steven Ball, Terry Flaxton, Anna Mortimer, Alex Pearl, Emily Richardson, Lynn Loo, Bea Haut, Nicky Hamlyn, Stuart Pound and Rosemary Norman, Philip Sanderson, Kerry Baldry, My Name is Scot, Andrew Vallance, Bob Georgeson, Julia Dogra-Brazell, Katharine Meynell, Tony Hill, Gordon Dawson, Michael Szpakowski & Anna Szpakowska, Robert Sherwood Duffield, Louisa Minkin & Alex Schady, Zhel (Zeliko Vukicevic), Jonathan Moss, Guy Sherwin, Rachael Allain, Jacob Cartwright, Kayla Parker & Stuart Moore, Leister/Harris, Paul Tarrago, Jenny Baines, Jamie Naqvi, Guido Devadder, Hendrik van Oordt, Debjit Bagchi and Daniela Lucato.

Contemporary Art Ruhr, The Photo/Media Art Fair
World Cultural Heritage Site Zollverein
Gelsenkirchener Strasse 181, 45309 Essen

Official Opening
Friday, March 15, 8 pm – 10.30 pm

Public fair hours
Saturday, March 16, 11 am – 7 pm
Sunday, March 17, 11 am – 7 pm

More information


Friday, March 15, 2024 (All day) to Sunday, March 17, 2024 (All day)



Friday, March 15, 2024 (All day) to Sunday, March 17, 2024 (All day)