LUX Associate Artists 2009/10 Announced

By on


Sin votos (todavía)

LUX Associate Artists 2009/10 Announced

4 November, 2009

LUX is pleased to announce the selection of the eight LUX associate artists for its 2009/10 programme. The artists are Paul Abbott, Mark Barker, Erik Blinderman, Lucy Clout, Kim Coleman, Jenny Hogarth, Maria Taniguchi and Cara Tolmie.

The LUX Associate Artists Programme (AAP) is a unique 12 month post-academic programme for artists working with the moving image. It aims to provide an intensive course of development focused on critical discourse, extending to the practical and infrastructural issues that present challenges for artists working with the medium through seminars, mentorship and a final funded public project. See for more details.

The programme is lead by Ian White, writer, artist and adjunct film curator of Whitechapel and is generously funded by the Leverhulme Trust.

The programme is managed and facilitated by LUX, an arts agency which explores ideas around artists' moving image practice through exhibition, distribution, publishing, education and research.

This is the third year of the LUX AAP. The second year’s associates (Luke Fowler, Laura Gannon, Duncan Marquiss, Laure Prouvost, Grace Schwindt, Samuel Stevens, Stina Wirfelt and Emma Wolukau-Wanambwa) have just completed the programme and are working towards a final project which will be launched in Spring 2010.

Speakers and mentors on the programme so far have included John Akomfrah, Robert Beavers, Gregg Bordowitz, JJ Charlesworth, Adam Chodzko, Stuart Comer, Adam Curtis, Stephan Dillemuth, Kodwo Eshun, Ryan Gander, Neil Gray, Graham Gussin, Chrissie Iles, Mary Kelly, Mark Leckey, Francis McKee, Daria Martin, Simon Martin, Jan Mot, Laura Mulvey, Rosalind Nashashibi, Uriel Orlow, Maureen Paley, Pawel Pawlikowski, Gail Pickering, Josephine Pryde, Steve Reinke, Polly Staple and Hito Steyerl, Catherine Sullivan, Stephen Sutcliffe and David Toop.