General news

  • Incite! #2 preview

    By on

    Incite logoThe contents of online journal Incite! #2, "Counter-Archive" have been confirmed.
    In the next issue:

    - CINEMA IS NOT THE WORLD by Ben Russell
    - Relational Filmmaking Manifesto by Julie Perini
    - JAWA Manifesto by Tasman Richardson
    - Interview with Michael Robinson by Cat Tyc
    - Mike Maryniuk: Prairie Landfill Surrealist by Dave Barber
    - Notes on 1919 by Noam Gonick
    - What is an Archive? by Ryan Tebo
    - Overall view drawings by Jenny Perlin
    - Interview with Cory Arcangel by Walter Forsberg
    - On Glitching and Ceibas Cycle diagram by Evan Meaney
    - Everyday Ethics by Brittany Shoot
    - Interview with Aleesa Cohene by Brett Kashmere
    - Stan Brakhage Visionary Title Generator by Michael Betancourt
    - Interview with Bruce Conner (on Arthur Lipsett) by Amelia Does
    - Representing the Unrepresentable: Bruce Conner’s Crossroads and the Nuclear Sublime by William C. Wees
    - The Unstable Eye: Paolo Gioli’s Film Practice Seen through Paul Virilio by Bart Testa
    - FILM IS…NOT FILM by Sandra Gibson and Luis Recoder

    Plus films and videos by Noam Gonick, Jason Orman, Bryan Konefsky, Nicola Bergstrom & Valdemar Lindekrantz, Tasman Richardson, Simon Aeppli, Penny Lane & Jessica Bardsley, Jo SiMayala Alcampo, Evan Meaney, Philip Widmann and a video-game by I LOVE PRESETS!


  • Cinema Project Needs You!

    By on

    Cinema Project seeks new office and screening space

    Recently, the lease on Cinema Project's donated office and screening space was abruptly canceled. We initially need a replacement office immediately with a minimum of 200 square feet to house our organizational records and work station for administrative staff.

    A shared or dedicated screening space is also on our wish list. Our spring season begins in late February and we need to find a space that can hold at least 50 audience members with storage for projection and sound equipment. As in the past, we are seeking property owners or lessees generous enough to donate screening and/or office space or steeply discount our lease rate.

    Please contact Autumn at [email protected] to suggest any potential leads.


  • Transfera TV Videoart #37: Gao Shiqiang II

    By on

    Next Friday November 13th at 21:00h and Saturday 14th at 9:00h, Transfera TV will broadcast from Madrid a special program of Audio Visual Art of one hour duration:

    Monographics: Gao Shiqiang II

    - Red (China, 2008) 50' 06"

    You can access to all the information at Transfera website.

    Soon we will begin report on the Video Art Mostra MADATAC, that will take place in Madrid between the 10th and 12th of December.

    We hope to see you there.

    All the best .

    Transfera Staff


  • LUX Associate Artists 2009/10 Announced

    By on

    LUX Associate Artists 2009/10 Announced

    4 November, 2009

    LUX is pleased to announce the selection of the eight LUX associate artists for its 2009/10 programme. The artists are Paul Abbott, Mark Barker, Erik Blinderman, Lucy Clout, Kim Coleman, Jenny Hogarth, Maria Taniguchi and Cara Tolmie.

    The LUX Associate Artists Programme (AAP) is a unique 12 month post-academic programme for artists working with the moving image. It aims to provide an intensive course of development focused on critical discourse, extending to the practical and infrastructural issues that present challenges for artists working with the medium through seminars, mentorship and a final funded public project. See for more details.

    The programme is lead by Ian White, writer, artist and adjunct film curator of Whitechapel and is generously funded by the Leverhulme Trust.

    The programme is managed and facilitated by LUX, an arts agency which explores ideas around artists' moving image practice through exhibition, distribution, publishing, education and research.

    This is the third year of the LUX AAP. The second year’s associates (Luke Fowler, Laura Gannon, Duncan Marquiss, Laure Prouvost, Grace Schwindt, Samuel Stevens, Stina Wirfelt and Emma Wolukau-Wanambwa) have just completed the programme and are working towards a final project which will be launched in Spring 2010.

    Speakers and mentors on the programme so far have included John Akomfrah, Robert Beavers, Gregg Bordowitz, JJ Charlesworth, Adam Chodzko, Stuart Comer, Adam Curtis, Stephan Dillemuth, Kodwo Eshun, Ryan Gander, Neil Gray, Graham Gussin, Chrissie Iles, Mary Kelly, Mark Leckey, Francis McKee, Daria Martin, Simon Martin, Jan Mot, Laura Mulvey, Rosalind Nashashibi, Uriel Orlow, Maureen Paley, Pawel Pawlikowski, Gail Pickering, Josephine Pryde, Steve Reinke, Polly Staple and Hito Steyerl, Catherine Sullivan, Stephen Sutcliffe and David Toop.


  • Transfera TV Videoart #36: Gao Shiqiang

    By on

    Next Friday November 6th at 21:00 PM and Saturday 7th at 9:00 AM,
    Transfera TV will broadcast from Madrid the following program of Audio Visual Art:

    Monographics: Gao Shiqiang

    - Chamber Theatre 3: Womb (2005)  12' 20"
    - Among (2004)  9' 48"

    You can access to all the information at the Transfera website

    We desire you, as always, the best luck!

    Transfera Staff


  • Female Fragrance

    By on

    Female Fragrance
    London Slade School of Fine Art
    Friday 9 October 2009, from 11am to 4pm

    A seminar looking at the history of Swedish Experimental Film and Video Art. Arranged in conjunction with two evenings celebrating Swedish female video art hosted by the Swedish ambassador Mr. Staffan Carlson.


  • 25 FPS Festival Awards 2009

    By on

    Awards at the 2009 edition of the 25 FPS Film Festival:

    Still in cosmos (Makino Takashi, 2008)

    Juror Erwin van ‘t Hart (NL):
    Grand prix: Still in cosmos (Makino Takashi, Japan, 18'00'', HDCam)
    Special Mention: Domenica 6 Aprile, ore 11:42 (Flatform, Italy, 6'12'', Digibeta)

    Juror Ana-Marija Koljanin (HR):
    Grand prix: 1859 (Fred Worden, USA, 11'00'', Digibeta)
    Special Mention: Trypps #6 (Malobi) (Ben Russell, USA/Surinam, 12'00'', 16mm)

    Juror Milena Gierke (DE):
    Grand prix: Gregor Alexis (Jana Debus, Germany, 20'00'', Beta SP)
    Special Mention: Retouches (Georges Schwizgebel, Switzerland, 05'35'', 35mm)

    Critics Jury Award: contre-jour (Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, Germany, 10'40'', 35mm)
    Special Mention: Westcoast (Ulu Braun, Germany, 7'20'', HDCam)

    Fuji Award: Trees of Syntax, Leaves of Axis (Daichi Saito, Canada, 10'00'', 35mm)

    Audience Award: Reise zum Wald (Jörn Staeger, Germany, 7'03'', 35mm)


  • EXiS 2009 awards

    By on

    These are the winner films in the korean EXiS film festival competition:

    Best EXiS Award
    - Battements Solaires
    by Patrrick Bokanowski

    EXiS Award
    - Coagulate by Mihai Grecu

    Korean EXiS Award
    - From Dust to Dust:The Chronicles of Women in Naegok-ri, Kyungsang Province by Cho, Hye-Jeong

    Fuji Film Award
    - The Garden of Earthy Delights by Izabella Pruska-Oldenhof
    - Lost World
    by Gyula Nemes

    Avid Award
    - Written on the body by M.J. One
    - Running Sushi
    by Mara Mattuschka & Chris Haring

    JungWoon Award
    - The Parallel Situation by Seungae
    - Self-Portrait by Kim, Eun-Jung