53rd Ann Arbor Film Festival Awards

By on


Average: 5 (2 votes)

The Ann Arbor Film Festival has just announced the awards for its 53rd edition, chosen by the jury comprised by Jesse McLean, Joanna Raczynska and Julie Murray.

Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival: The Creation of Meaning, by Simone Rapisarda Casanova

The Stan Brakhage Film at Wit’s End Award: Things, by Ben Rivers

Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film: Episode of the Sea, by Lonnie van Brummelen & Siebren de Haan

Michael Moore Award for Best Documentary Film: Speculation Nation, by Bill Brown & Sabine Gruffat

Tios Award for Best International Film: Old Jewish Cemetery, by Sergei Loznitsa

Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film: Brouillard - Passage #15, by Alexandre Larose

\aut\FILM Award for Best LGBT Film: The Royal Road, by Jenni Olson

Leon Speakers Award for Best Sound Design: Accent Grave on Ananas, by Tamara Henderson

Colorlab/Niagara/ORWO Award for Best Cinematography:
- Colorlab: Blue Loop, July, by Mike Gibisser
- Niagara: A Symptom, by Ben Balcom
- ORWO: vindmøller, by Margaret Rorison

The No Violence Award: Babash, by Lisa Truttman & Behrouz Rae

Kinetta Handcrafted Film Award: Three Quarters, by Kevin Jerome Everson

Gus Van Sant Award for Best Experimental Film: Detour de Force, by Rebecca Baron

Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film: The Bigger Picture, by Daisy Jacobs

Pat O’Neill Perseverance Furthers Award: Scrapbook, by Mike Hoolboom

The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for Emerging Experimental Video Artist: All That is Solid, by Louis Henderson

Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film:
- The Song Remains the Same, by Mark Toscano
- Seven Signs that Mean Silence, by Sara Magenheimer

Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker:
- The Figure Carved Into the Knife by the Sap of the Banana Tree, by Joana Pimenta
- Many Thousands Gone, by Ephraim Asili

George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award: Special Features, by James N. Kienitz Wilkins

Art & Science Award: Depositions, by Luke Fowler

The Eileen Maitland Award: Sister City, by Dani Leventhal

Overture/Wazoo Award for Best Music Video: Cirrus by Bonobo, by Cyriak

PROCAM Best Regional Filmmaker Award: VV, by Elizabeth Wodzinski