Ann Arbor Film Festival 2014 Awards

By on


No votes yet

The Ann Arbor Film Festival has announced the awards list for its 52nd edition, as chosen by the jury Steve Anker, Hope Tucker and Jeremy Rigsby:

Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival: Lagos Island & Lagos Sand Merchants by Karimah Ashadu

The Stan Brakhage Film at Wit’s End Award: A Study in Natural Magic, by Charlotte Pryce

Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film: Letter to a Refusing Pilot, by Akram Zaatari

Michael Moore Award for Best Documentary Film: Purgatorio, by Rodrigo Reyes

Award for Best International Film: Mille Soleils, by Mati Diop

Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film: Main Hall, by Philipp Fleischmann

\aut\FILM Award for Best LGBT Film: Touch, by Shelly Silver

Leon Speakers Award for Best Sound Design: Hacked Circuit, by Deborah Stratman

Award for Best Cinematography:
- Sun Song, by Joel Wanek
- Rivergarden, by Jack Cronin
- murmurations, by Rebecca Meyers

The No Violence Award: Letter to a Refusing Pilot, by Akram Zaatari

Gus Van Sant Award for Best Experimental Film: Gradual Speed, by Els van Riel

Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film: Velocity, by Karolina Glusiec

The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for Emerging Experimental Video Artist: Division, by Johan Rijpma

Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film: The Great Rabbit, by Atsushi Wada

Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker: Will o’ the Wisp, by Andrew Kim

George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award: Gente Perra (Dog People), by Anja Dornieden and Juan David González Monroy

Gil Omenn Art & Science Award
- Gowanus Canal, by Sarah J. Christman
- Adeline For Leaves, by Jessica Sarah Rinland

The Eileen Maitland Award: A Million Miles Away, by Jennifer Reeder

Award for Best Music Video: Metamorfoza, by Martha Colburn

Kinetta Handcrafted Film Award: Dot Matrix, by Richard Tuohy

Kinetta Archival Film Award: Off-White Tulips, by Aykan Safoglu

Jury Awards:
- The Absent Stone (La Piedra Ausente), by Jesse Lerner
- Brimstone Line, by Chris Kennedy
- Cold Open, by Seamus Harahan
- ELSA merdelamerdelamer, by Abigail Child
- Fe26 & sound that, by Kevin Jerome Everson