50th Ann Arbor Film Festival Awards

By on


No votes yet

AAFF logoThe 50th Ann Arbor Film Festival is proud to announce this year's award winning films as chosen the jury: Michael Robinson, Kathy Geritz and Peter Rose.

Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival: Lack of Evidence (Manque de Preuves) by Hayoun Kwon

The Stan Brakhage Film at Wit's End Award: Voluptuous Sleep by Betzy Bromberg

Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film: Palaces of Pity by Daniel Schmidt & Gabriel Abrantes

Michael Moore Award for Best Documentary Film: Guañape Sur by János Richter

Award for Best International Film: Untitled by Neil Beloufa

Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film: Vexed by Telcosystems

FILM Award for Best LGBT Film: The Evil Eyes by Bobby Abate

Award for Best Sound Design: Remote by Jesse McLean

Kodak/Colorlab Award for Best Cinematography: Undergrowth by Robert Todd and  Within by Robert Todd

The No Violence Award: If the War Continues by Jonathan Schwartz

Gus Van Sant Award for Best Experimental Film: Sounding Glass by Sylvia Schedelbauer

Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film: It's such a beautiful day by Don Hertzfeldt and Traces by Scott Stark

The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for Emerging Experimental Video Artist: Ceibas: The Epilogue - The Well of Representation by Evan Meaney

Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film: Walt Disney's 'Taxi Driver' by Bryan Boyce, Shadow Cuts by Martin Arnold and Pluto Declaration by Travis Wilkerson

Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker: The Strawberry Tree by Simone Rapisarda Casanova

George Manupelli Founder's Spirit Award: By Foot-Candle Light by Mary Helena Clark

Art & Science Award: 20Hz by Semiconductor

The Eileen Maitland Award: Irma by Charles Fairbanks

Award for Best Music Video: Go Outside by Cults by Isaiah Seret

Jury awards:

- As Above, So Below by Sarah J. Christman
- Tin Pressed by Dani Leventhal
- Curious Light by Charlotte Pryce
- Landfill 16 by Jennifer Reeves
- August Song by Jodie Mack, Emily Kuehn
- A Lax Riddle Unit by Laida Lertxundi
- Quest (Cautare) by Ionut Piturescu
- The House (Das Haus) by David Buob
- Envelop by Julianna Barwick by Cam Archer